Yolande Lessard

Calligraphy: Yolande Lessard
Text: Yolande Lessard
April 22nd, 2020

This poem was written on April 22nd, 2020 in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic which swept through the world with Montréal being severely affected. The entire city and its population was suddenly confined. I was grieving the loss of my husband, Félix Doudou Boicel, who passed away on March 10th, 2020 from a pulmonary fibrosis. Gatherings and funerals were illegal.

En lumière: Sister Noëlla Doyon

Sister Noëlla Doyon, calligrapher and centenarian

By Claire Bourassa – Photos by Diane St-Antoine

Sister Noëlla holding a photo of herself in 1994, then the librarian at St-Joseph High School. The next year, she began learning calligraphy.

Last fall, I answered the call from our president Mathieu Doucette to send a birthday card incorporating calligraphy to our centenary member, Sister Noëlla Doyon. She invited me to come and visit her at Les Jardins d’Aurélie Seniors Residence in St-Hyacinthe, which houses the communities of the Sisters of Saint Joseph and the Precious Blood. From our first contact in February, I realized that I was in the presence of an exceptional centenarian! Sister Noëlla is a very petite woman who moves at a brisk pace with a simple cane. She has a keen eye and is quick to speak and has a wonderful sense of humour.

“Calligraphy brings me life!”

An interest in calligraphy was always present in her life, especially as a teacher where she perfected her writing on classroom chalkboards.

“At school, you had to make beautiful pictures on the chalkboard, write beautiful sentences with an author’s eye that you embellished with flowers. We would run with it for four to five months, then at Christmas we would switch it up. I always said that every time I entered the class, I looked at the board! I had a teaching colleague in Granby who was a model for me. By slowly inclining my hand, I eventually entered the realm of the italic, and that was definitely my best work!”

The chance meeting of Yannick Durand

In the fall of 1995, at 74 years old with more than 35 years working as a teacher and 18 years as a librarian, Sister Noëlla was finally on sabbatical and ready to take up a new challenge.

“During an activity at the YMCA, I heard about the work of Yannick Durand. The same day, I made an appointment with her at the Essence du papier boutique on rue St-Denis in Montreal, where she worked. “

Sister Noëlla quickly started her lessons with Yannick at the Saidye-Bronfman Centre, then went to her Calligrafia workshop on blvd St-Laurent.

“A real Frenchwoman! She corrected every single letter we wrote,  and sometimes she granted us a hand-drawn star. It was Yannick who introduced me to calligraphy. She was the one who wowed me the most by encouraging me. She didn’t have to repeat herself, I could spot that as a former teacher. Some teachers repeat, but not Yannick! We could feel that we were making progress with her there, but we had to practice! “

During her early years in calligraphy, Sister Noëlla experienced more difficult times.

“One evening, I arrived back at the Residence completely discouraged. It was taking me too long to get it right. I felt completely blocked! I went back to Yannick’s class and asked her to show me the letters that I had the most difficulty with, the ones that are more elongated, so that I could memorize them properly. I did a tremendous amount of those afterwards!”

This beautiful master-student relationship lasted 10 years and ended with the death of Yannick in January 2006. In the special autumn-winter 2006 issue of L’Arabesque devoted to Yannick Durand, Sister Noëlla paid tribute to her: “Yannick, an expert in the pen… All her works amazed me… I thank God for the luck of having crossed her on my life’s path […] I hope that her God in heaven will fulfill her. Goodbye to my dear calligraphy friend.

Continuation of calligraphy and exploration of other writing styles

After the loss of Yannick, Sister Noëlla continued her training in calligraphy. In Longueuil, she met calligraphers Roger Beaudouin and Nicole Morin, a former student of Yannick.

“[Nicole] told me to go see Mr. Beaudoin. He will prepare a beautiful duck feather quill for you! Nicole also taught me, but the writing style did not have enough of an angle to really entice me. She did help me in the creation of a calligraphic landscape.”

She also followed courses to embellish her Italic, especially capital letters, with Luc Saucier and Gilles Champagne, among others. A little later, she enrolled in an illumination class with Brigitte Papineau.

“I did the letter E, but I found it too long. I am not patient enough with the gilding process.”

For someone who dedicated so much of her practice to the Italic hand, trying Copperplate felt completely natural. 

“Joy Deneen gave me Copperplate lessons. I wanted to learn it because I had worked on a similar technique throughout my teaching years with cursive writing. But I did not master those majuscules! “

Participation in members’ exhibitions

From 2005 to 2010, Sister Noëlla participated in several exhibitions of the Societé. To illustrate this active period, she showed us a small album of photos, exclaiming: “It was great fun! I tried several new things! “

She is particularly proud of her work in 2011, as part of the exhibition: Urban Dialogue. She wrote a sentence which testifies to her great openness towards the Other: Maintaining the quality of dialogue in Montreal shows great fraternity. From a visual aspect, it was her first time integrating cartography with calligraphy. 

Calligrapher in her community

For several years, Sister Noëlla was an active calligrapher in her religious community, particularly in addressing numerous envelopes. On nuns’ anniversaries, she prepared tribute pieces on white backgrounds using felt-tip pens.

“It was a slippery surface! I put a few flowers at the bottom, sometimes even artificial flowers. The sisters still tell me about it because they loved my paintings. “

In 2015, the last year of her active practice, she designed panels with the names of nuns celebrating jubilee anniversaries, such as sixtieths and fiftieths.

“I wrote all the names on a big card. Nowadays, everything is computerized!”

Hassan Massoudy, her latest favorite

Before departing, she confided in us her crush on the Iraqi calligrapher Hassan Massoudy, established in France since 1969. She discovered him due to his many lectures on calligraphy and, to this day, keeps a photo of the artist at work.

She also wants to give this advice to novice calligraphers: “Continue to be tenacious! If you don’t like it, drop it. If you like it, you have to work for it to be presentable and for you to have some recognition.”

Au revoir, Sister Noëlla. Thank you for your joie de vivre, your love of calligraphy and this wonderful encounter!

Sister Noëlla’s life in a few dates

December 5, 1919 Born in St-Guillaume, a village near Drummondville. She is the second in a family of 11 children, five girls and six boys. Her sister Jeannine, who is 10 years her junior, is part of the same religious congregation.

1934 – 1937 Boarding school in St-Hyacinthe at the Sisters of Saint-Joseph

1937 – 1939 Teacher in the village of St-Guillaume

1939 Summer trip to Albany, NY

1939 – 1943 Entrance and novitiate with the Sisters of Saint-Joseph community

1943 – 1975 Teacher in Montérégie and in the Eastern Townships

1975 – 1977  Library studies training at Ste-Thérèse college in Blainville and Collège Maisonneuve in Montreal

1977 – 2002 Librarian at St-Joseph High School, St-Hyacinthe

1978 Trip to Israel after obtaining a certificate in Theology at the Université de Sherbrooke

1991 Trip to France, a community gift for her jubilee as a religious professional (50 years)

1994 Bachelors in Science (B.Sc) at l’Université de Montréal

1995 Sabbatical in Montréal and discovery of calligraphy with Yannick Durand. Became a member of the Société des calligraphes de Montréal

2002 – 2015 Librarian at Résidence Notre-Dame, St-Hyacinthe

2005 – 2010 Participated in the annual members exhibits of the Société

2015 End of the practice of calligraphy. Sister Noëlla continues her membership because of her interest in calligraphy and the members of the Société.

December 5, 2019 100th birthday!

Calligraphy in confinement

With all the turbulence that spring 2020 has brought, it was also a period of creation for some of our members. Here is a gallery of calligraphy created during this confinement period, as well as pieces that can serve as inspiration during these difficult times. Thank you to everyone for their contribution. If you would like to submit a piece for publication, please contact Mathieu Doucette

En lumière: Luc Saucier

Last year marked the 30th anniversary of the Canadian Heraldic Authority, founded on June 4, 1988, by Jeanne Sauvé in the Office of the Secretary to the Governor General. Luc Saucier, a member of La Société des calligraphes de Montréal, has been associated with this institution since 2005.

1) What is the Canadian Heraldic Authority?

From the twelfth century, European knights adopted the practice of decorating their shields in order to be recognized when they were clad in armor. The primitive coats of arms, often very simplistic, were useful in clearly identifying the person sporting them. Over time, monarchs assumed control of the granting and official use of coats of arms, which allowed them to pay tribute to individuals and groups. A coat of arms thus came to be perceived as a mark of honor awarded by a sovereign. Heralds of arms – officers of the court who also acted as diplomats – were charged with the task of conducting a census to collect the various coats of arms held by the sovereign’s subjects.

Continue reading “En lumière: Luc Saucier”

Yolande Lessard

Calligraphie: Yolande Lessard
Texte: Yolande Lessard
22 avril 2020

Ce poème a été écrit le 22 avril 2020 suite à la pandémie de covid-19 qui a sévi dans le monde entier et particulièrement à Montréal. La ville entière et sa population étaient en confinement. J’étais en deuil, mon conjoint Félix Doudou Boicel venait de décéder le 10 mars 2020 d’une fibrose pulmonaire. Les rassemblements et les funérailles étaient interdits.

En lumière: Sr Noëlla Doyon

Sr Noëlla Doyon, calligraphe et centenaire!

Par Claire Bourassa – Photos : Diane St-Antoine

Sr Noëlla tenant une photo d’elle de 1994, alors qu’elle travaillait comme bibliothécaire à l’école secondaire St-Joseph. L’année suivante, elle commencera ses cours de calligraphie.

L’automne dernier, je réponds à l’appel de notre président Mathieu Doucette afin de faire parvenir une carte calligraphiée à notre membre centenaire, Sr Noëlla Doyon. Celle-ci m’invite à venir la visiter à la résidence Les Jardins d’Aurélie à St-Hyacinthe, pour religieuses de sa communauté, les Sœurs de Saint-Joseph, et celles du Précieux-Sang. Dès le premier contact en février, je réalise que je suis en présence d’une centenaire exceptionnelle! Sr Noëlla est une femme toute menue qui se déplace d’un bon pas avec une simple canne! Elle a l’œil vif et est dotée d’une élocution rapide et d’un grand sens de l’humour!

« Moi, la calligraphie, ça m’aide à vivre! »

Son intérêt pour la calligraphie a toujours été présent dans sa vie, notamment comme enseignante où elle fignole ses textes au tableau.

 « À l’école, il fallait faire des beaux tableaux, écrire des belles phrases garnies de fleurs avec une pensée d’auteur. On filait avec ça quatre à cinq mois, puis à Noël on changeait ça. Je disais toujours qu’à chaque fois que j’entrais dans la classe, je regardais le tableau! J’avais une collègue enseignante à Granby qui fut un modèle pour moi. C’est ainsi que je me suis rendue à l’italique en inclinant mon écriture et ça a été ma meilleure! »

La rencontre déterminante de Yannick Durand

À l’automne 1995, âgée de 74 ans, avec plus de 35 années actives comme enseignante et 18 comme bibliothécaire, Sr Noëlla est enfin en congé sabbatique et prête à relever un nouveau défi.

« Lors d’une activité au YMCA, j’entends parler du travail de Yannick Durand. La journée même, je prends rendez-vous avec elle à la boutique l’Essence du papier, sur la rue St-Denis à Montréal, où elle travaille. »

Sr Noëlla débute rapidement ses cours avec Yannick au centre Saidye-Bronfman, puis fréquente son atelier Calligrafia sur le boulevard St-Laurent.

« Une vraie Française! Pour chaque lettre, elle corrigeait nos écritures et parfois elle nous octroyait une étoile dessinée de sa main! C’est Yannick qui m’a initiée à la calligraphie. C’est elle qui m’a emballée le plus en m’encourageant. Elle n’était pas tenue à répéter, je le sais comme ancienne enseignante. Certains professeurs répètent, mais pas Yannick! On sentait qu’on avançait avec elle, mais il fallait pratiquer! »

Lors de ses débuts en calligraphie, Sr Noëlla vit des moments plus difficiles.

« Un soir j’arrive à la résidence un peu découragée. Je trouvais que cela me prenait pas mal de temps. J’ai eu un blocage! Mais je suis retournée au cours de Yannick et je lui ai demandé de me montrer les lettres avec lesquelles j’avais plus de difficultés, celles qui sont plus allongées, pour être capable de les mémoriser. C’est énorme comment j’en ai fait par la suite! »

Cette belle relation maître-élève dure 10 ans et prend fin au décès de Yannick en janvier 2006. Dans le numéro spécial automne-hiver 2006 de L’Arabesque consacré à cette grande calligraphe, Sr Noëlla lui rend hommage : « Yannick, une experte de la plume… Tous ses travaux m’émerveillaient… Merci à Dieu d’avoir eu la chance de la connaître sur la route de ma vie. (…) J’espère que son Dieu du ciel la comblera. Adieu à ma chère amie de la calligraphie.»

Poursuite de la calligraphie et exploration d’autres styles d’écriture

Après le départ de Yannick, Sr Noëlla poursuit son apprentissage de la calligraphie. À Longueuil, elle rencontre les calligraphes Roger Beaudouin et Nicole Morin, une ancienne élève de Yannick.

« Elle (Nicole) m’a dit d’aller voir M. Beaudoin. Il va te préparer une belle plume de canard! Nicole m’a aussi enseigné, mais c’était une écriture droite et ça ne me rejoignait pas! Elle m’a aidée pour réaliser un paysage avec de la calligraphie. »

Elle suit aussi des cours pour enjoliver son Italique, notamment les majuscules, entre-autres avec Luc Saucier et Gilles Champagne. Un peu plus tard, elle s’inscrit à un cours d’enluminure avec Brigitte Papineau.

« J’ai fait la lettre E, mais j’ai trouvé cela trop long. Je ne suis pas assez patiente avec la dorure qui colle puis qui décolle. »

Pour Sr Noëlla qui pratique l’Italique, c’est tout naturel d’explorer l’écriture anglaise.

« Joy Deneen m’a donné des cours d’anglaise. Je voulais l’apprendre car je l’avais travaillée tout au long de mes années d’enseignement avec les lettres attachées. Mais je n’ai pas réussi mes majuscules! »

Participation aux expositions de la Société

De 2005 à 2010, Sr Noëlla participe à plusieurs expositions de la Société. Afin d’illustrer cette période active, elle nous montre un petit album de photos en s’exclamant : « C’était l’fun! J’ai essayé des affaires! »

Elle est particulièrement fière de son œuvre en 2011, dans le cadre de l’exposition : Dialogue urbain. Elle écrit une phrase qui témoigne de sa grande ouverture face à l’Autre : Maintenir la qualité de dialogue à Montréal fait preuve d’une grande fraternité. Au niveau visuel, elle intègre pour la première fois de la cartographie à sa calligraphie.

Calligraphe dans sa communauté

Pendant plusieurs années, Sr Noëlla est une calligraphe active comme dans sa communauté religieuse, notamment en adressant de nombreuses enveloppes. Lors d’anniversaires des religieuses, elle prépare un tableau hommage sur un fond blanc, avec des feutres.

« C’était glissant! Je mettais quelques fleurs en bas, parfois même des fleurs artificielles! Les sœurs m’en parlent encore car elles aimaient mes tableaux! »

En 2015, dernière année de sa pratique active, elle conçoit des panneaux avec les noms des religieuses jubilaires lors d’anniversaires, tels que des soixantièmes, des cinquantièmes.

« J’ai tout écrit les noms sur un grand carton. Maintenant, tout est informatisé! »

Hassan Massoudy, son dernier coup de cœur!

Au moment de la quitter, elle nous confie son coup de cœur pour le calligraphe irakien Hassan Massoudy, établi en France depuis 1969. Elle l’a connu lors de ses nombreuses lectures sur la calligraphie et conserve une photo de l’artiste au travail.

Elle veut aussi donner ce conseil aux calligraphes débutants : « Continuez d’être tenaces! Si tu n’aimes pas ça, lâche ça! Si tu aimes ça, il faut travailler pour que cela soit présentable et que tu aies une certaine reconnaissance. »

Au revoir Sr Noëlla! Merci pour votre joie de vivre, votre amour de la calligraphie et cette belle rencontre!

Sr Noëlla en quelques dates

1919 Le 5 décembre, naissance à St-Guillaume, village à proximité de Drummondville.
Elle est la deuxième d’une famille de 11 enfants, 5 filles et 6 garçons. Sa sœur Jeannine, qui est sa cadette de 10 ans, fait partie de la même congrégation religieuse.

1934 – 1937 Pensionnat de St-Hyacinthe, Sœurs de Saint-Joseph

1937 – 1939 Enseignante dans le village de St-Guillaume

1939 Voyage estival à Albany, état de New York

1939 – 1943 Entrée dans la communauté des Sœurs de Saint-Joseph et noviciat

1943 – 1975 Enseignante en Montérégie et dans les Cantons-de-l’Est

1975 – 1977  Formation en bibliotechnique aux collèges Ste-Thérèse de Blainville et
de Maisonneuve à Montréal

1977 – 2002 Bibliothécaire à l’école secondaire St-Joseph, St-Hyacinthe

1978 Voyage en Israël à la suite d’un certificat en théologie à l’Université de Sherbrooke

1991 Voyage en France, cadeau communautaire pour son jubilé (50 ans) de profession religieuse

1994 Bachelière ès Sciences (B.Sc) Université de Montréal

1995 Année sabbatique à Montréal et découverte de la calligraphie avec Yannick Durand.

 Adhésion à la Société des calligraphes de Montréal

2002 – 2015 Bibliothécaire à la Résidence Notre-Dame, St-Hyacinthe

2005 – 2010 Participation aux expositions annuelles de la Société

2015 Fin de la pratique de la calligraphie. Sr Noëlla poursuit son adhésion à la Société car son intérêt pour la calligraphie demeure aussi présent et elle est très attachée envers la Société et ses activés!

2019 Le 5 décembre : 100e anniversaire!

Calligraphie et confinement

Avec les chamboulements du printemps 2020, certains de nos membres se sont tournés vers la calligraphie. Voici quelques pièces créées lors de cette période de confinement. Certaines peuvent vous servir d’inspiration durant ces moments difficiles. Merci à tous pour vos contributions. Si vous souhaitez publier une de vos oeuvres, veuillez contactez Mathieu Doucette

En lumière: Luc Saucier

L’an dernier fut souligné le 30e anniversaire de l’Autorité héraldique du Canada, fondée le 4 juin 1988 par Jeanne Sauvé au sein du Bureau du secrétaire du gouverneur général.  Luc Saucier, membre de la Société des calligraphes, est associé à cette institution depuis 2005.

1) Qu’est-ce que l’Autorité héraldique du Canada?

À partir du XIIe siècle, en Europe, les chevaliers adoptèrent la pratique de décorer leurs boucliers pour se faire reconnaître lorsqu’ils étaient revêtus de leur armure. Ces armoiries primitives, quoique souvent très simples, identifiaient clairement la personne. Avec le temps, les monarques assumèrent le contrôle de la concession et de l’utilisation officielle d’armoiries, ce qui leur permettait de rendre hommage à des personnes et à des groupes. Les armoiries vinrent ainsi à être perçues comme des marques d’honneur décernées par un souverain usant de sa prérogative. Les hérauts d’armes – des officiers de la cour qui jouaient également le rôle de diplomates – étaient chargés de recenser les sujets de leur souverain et d’enregistrer les armoiries à cette fin.

Continuer la lecture de « En lumière: Luc Saucier »

Assemblée générale annuelle : Jeudi 25 Mai 2017

Bonjour !

Le 25 mai 2017 à 19h30 nous tiendrons notre assemblée générale annuelle au Centre communautaire Monkland, 4410, avenue West Hill, Montréal.  (métro Villa-Maria, autobus 103 jusqu’au boulevard Grand + 7 minutes de marche / ou autobus 162 jusqu’à l’avenue West Hill).

Il y aura une galerie calligraphique. Vous aurez le plaisir de voir les travaux réalisés par nos membres durant l’année écoulée. Vous pouvez apporter un travail personnel en cours ou une œuvre calligraphique terminée.

Vous courez la chance de gagner un prix de présence!

N.B.  La date pour le renouvellement de l’adhésion était le 1er mai dernier. Pour voter à l’assemblée, vous devez avoir payé votre cotisation annuelle. Si vous ne l’avez pas encore fait, vous pourrez le faire à l’accueil, soit en argent comptant (40 $) soit par chèque libellé au nom de La Société des calligraphes de Montréal.  

Nous comptons énormément sur votre présence le 25 mai, merci d’avance de votre participation.

École internationale de Percé – Cours de calligraphie avec Laurent Rébéna / Calligraphy course with Laurent Rébéna

Jeux de lettres avec Laurent Rébéna,  organisé par l’Université Laval.

Cours de calligraphie à l’École internationale de Percé du 16 au 22 juillet 2017 avec Laurent Rébéna. Formé au Scriptorium de Toulouse, Laurent Rébéna est un calligraphe praticien amoureux de la lettre et désireux d’en proposer une vision originale.

Suivre ce lien pour les informations et l’inscription : https://www.ulaval.ca/les-etudes/ecoles-et-universites-dete/arts-patrimoine-et-design.html

S.v.p. noter que ce cours sera donné en français.

 

 »Jeux de lettres » with  Laurent Rébéna, organized by l’Université Laval.

Calligraphy course at l’École internationale de Percé, July 16-20, 2017 with Laurent Rébéna.  Trained at the Scriptorium of Toulouse, Laurent Rébéna is a practicing calligrapher with a love of letters, and a desire to share his original vision.

Click on the following link for information and registration:  https://www.ulaval.ca/les-etudes/ecoles-et-universites-dete/arts-patrimoine-et-design.html

Please note this course will be offered in French.

 

Atelier de boîtiers 1 au 2 avril 2017 / Box-Making Workshop April 1-2, 2017

Il reste encore des places pour l’atelier de fabrication de boîtiers avec Louise Genest le 1 au 2 avril 2017 : apprenez à mesurer, couper et coller avec précision, pour finir avec une belle boîte en main !

Date limite pour l’inscription : 17 mars 2017

Envoyez un courriel à Louise Rousseau at ateliers.scm@gmail.com et ensuite postez votre chèque.

Détails : http://societedescalligraphes.org/inscription-aux-ateliers-workshop-registration/

 

There are still some places open for the box-making workshop with Louise Genest on April 1-2, 2017: Learn to measure, cut and glue with precision, end up with beautiful boxes!

Registration deadline: March 17, 2017

Send email to Louise Rousseau at ateliers.scm@gmail.com then mail your cheque.

Details: http://societedescalligraphes.org/inscription-aux-ateliers-workshop-registration/
Atelier Boîtier / Box-Making Workshop

Atelier – Variations sur la Plume Pointue avec Barbara Close / Workshop – Variations with Pointed Pen with Barbara Close

Les inscriptions sont maintenant ouvertes pour cet atelier offert par la Société des Calligraphes de Montréal.

Consulter notre page d’inscription à l’atelier !

 

Registration is now open for the following workshop organized by the Société des Calldigraphes de Montréal.  

View our workshop registration page! 

 

Photo credit: Barbara Close
Photo credit: Barbara Close